Silent Majority

They came first for the Communists, And I didn???t speak up because I wasn???t a Communist;
And then they came for the trade unionists, And I didn???t speak up because I wasn???t a trade unionist;
And then they came for the Jews, And I didn???t speak up because I wasn???t a Jew;
And then . . . they came for me . . . And by that time there was no one left to speak up.

Most recent trigger for the above – a biker got beaten up on the flimsy premise of his attire. The mailing list on which I read this got into a debate about the off-topic-ness of the story and reactions to it!

Overall, the spiritual leaders forgot to speak out strongly against the association of weapons with religion. The political leaders at the top got into marriages of conveniences with the terrorizers of local populations for short term “gains”. We stay shut on the roads when there’s a brawl, or a woman gets beaten up by some neanderthals.

None of my business. Thats what it is all boiling down to.

Leave a Reply

